july 30

I have recently decided to allow my “yes” to be “yes” and my “no” to be “no”. I, like maybe some of you, wanted other people to know how honest I was being, so I’d say things like “I promise” to even the simplest questions. A friend asked me if I liked her hair, and instead of letting my “yes” be “yes”, I wanted her to know how intensely I was telling the truth! I’d promise and swear over the silliest things, and even hold my hand up like I was in a court of law! I had to know that “they” knew I wasn’t telling falsehoods! But isn’t this ridiculous?! We are in a world where the truth is relative. Lying doesn’t seem as wrong as it was when we were growing up. In fact, CEOs and companies are encouraged to lie. Even rewarded!

Well, we may live in a different world than the one we knew as children, but that doesn’t mean we have to promise and swear that what we are saying is truthful and honest. How about we just tell the truth, and let it speak for itself?

“But above all things, my brethren, swear not, neither by heaven, neither by the earth, neither by any other oath: but let your yea be yea; and your nay, nay; lest ye fall into condemnation.” – James 5:12

Leave a comment